H.R. 3700 Introduced in Senate – Take Action Now!

Senate Banking, Housing and Urban Affairs Subcommittee on Housing, Transportation, and Community Development Chairman Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Ranking Member Robert Menendez (D-N.J), Sen. Roy Blunt (R-Mo.), and Sen. Christopher Coons (D-Del.) introduced companion legislation to the Housing Opportunity Through Modernization Act (H.R. 3700) in the Senate today. The Senate bill number is S. 3083.

“NAHRO commends Chairman Tim Scott and Ranking Member Robert Menendez, with Sen. Roy Blunt and Sen. Christopher Coons, on the introduction of the Housing Opportunity Through Modernization Act in the Senate. This common-sense legislation will help public housing authorities across the country do their jobs more efficiently and better serve their residents. NAHRO was honored to have the opportunity to testify at the House Financial Services Committee last fall about this bill and I am thankful to the senators for their commitment to moving it forward,” said John Bohm, Acting NAHRO CEO.

This is a huge victory, but our work is just beginning in the Senate. Send a letter to your senators today urging them to take immediate action on the Senate bill.

For more information, see NAHRO’s coverage of the introduction of H.R. 3700 and the revised version that was approved unanimously by the House in February.

HUD Publishes Names of Members of MTW Advisory Committee

On Wednesday, June 22, HUD published the names of the members of the MTW Advisory Committee. In its FY 2016 Appropriations bill, Congress directed HUD to expand MTW to include a hundred additional public housing agencies (PHAs) over the next seven years. Congress also called on HUD to establish a federal research advisory committee. The research advisory committee is responsible for advising HUD on specific policy proposals and methods of research and evaluation for MTW.

HUD has appointed the following people to the advisory committee:

  • Josh Meehan – Keene Housing;
  • Austin Simms – Lexington-Fayette Urban County Housing Authority;
  • Chris Lamberty – Lincoln Housing Authority;
  • Adrianne Todman – District of Columbia Housing Authority;
  • David Nisivoccia – San Antonio Housing Authority;
  • Janny Castillo – Former Resident of the Oakland Housing Authority;
  • Cindy Fernandez – Former Resident of the Housing Authority of Tulare County;
  • Asia Coney – Resident of the Philadelphia Housing Authority;
  • Larry Orr, Ph.D. –  Johns Hopkins University;
  • Heather Schwartz, Ph.D. – RAND Corporation;
  • Mark Joseph, Ph.D. – Case Western Reserve University;
  • Stefanie DeLuca, Ph.D. – Johns Hopkins University;
  • Jill Khadduri, Ph.D. – Abt Associates;
  • Marianne Nazzaro – HUD’s Office of Public and Indian Housing; and
  • Todd Richardson – HUD’s Office of Policy Development and Research.

HUD has also published an anticipated timeline for the expansion.

Early Summer 2016

Publish a summary of submitted comments on www.hud.gov/mtw.

Summer 2016

Begin the calls with the advisory committee, with an in-person meeting in Washington, DC in late-summer.

Fall 2016

Publish the notice to select the initial cohort of MTW agencies, with up to four months to submit applications.

Spring/Summer 2017

Select initial cohort of new MTW public housing authorities.

 Additional Resources:

Read the full HUD Press Release here.

Read NAHRO’s coverage of the FY 2016 appropriations bill and the included MTW expansion here.